Skip to Content

UK Biodiversity Indicators 2023 - Enquiries

Enquiries about the biodiversity indicators or this publication (2023)

This publication has been produced by the Environmental Statistics and Reporting team (Defra) working with the Joint Nature Conservation Committee (JNCC).

Editorial / Project team:

Defra:  Clare Betts, Rob Dyer, Josh Johnson, Madeleine May, Rhidian Thomas and Karen Thomas.

JNCC:  Emma Durham, Hayley Dorrian-Bak, Leah Farquharson, Cathy Gardner, Ian Mitchell and Joe Taylor.


The UK Biodiversity Indicators Steering Group membership is drawn from the following organisations:

Centre for Environment, Fisheries and Aquaculture Science; Defra (Chair); Joint Nature Conservation Committee; Natural England; Natural Resources Wales; Northern Ireland Environment Agency; RSPB on behalf of Wildlife and Countryside Link; Scottish Government; NatureScot; and Welsh Government.


Responsible statistician:

Clare Betts (Defra).


We would welcome feedback on this publication. If you have any comments or questions about the published biodiversity indicators please contact

  • E-mail:
  • Address:  Environmental Statistics and Reporting team, Department for Environment Food and Rural Affairs, Mallard House, Kings Pool, 1–2 Peasholme Green, York YO1 7PX.

Information on other environmental statistics is also available on Defra’s webpages

For enquiries about the future development of the indicators, please contact:

Joe Taylor at, or

Clare Betts at


For further details on all the indicators, including data sources and assessment methods, please visit

Published: .

Back to top