Skip to Content

New Joint Committee Members appointed

News Item 2022

First published 28 March, updated 25 April 2022*

Defra has announced the appointment of Catherine Denholm and Tom Meagher as independent members of our Joint Committee.

The appointments were made by Defra Ministers in conjunction with the devolved administrations, and are for a three-year term from 4 April 2022 to 3 April 2025.

The new appointments have all been made in accordance with the Ministerial Governance Code on Public Appointments published by the Cabinet Office. Appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process.

Details of the new appointments include:

  • Catherine Denholm: Catherine Denholm is the Chief Operating Officer for the Equality and Human Rights Commission. She also served as Deputy Chair of NatureScot from 2019 to March 2022. She was awarded honorary membership of the Faculty of Public Health in 2020 and is Vice Chair of Impact Arts. She is currently serving as a Joint Committee member in her capacity as Deputy Chair of NatureScot until 31 March 2022.
  • Tom Meagher: Tom Meagher is a botanist and Professor and Chair of Plant Biology at the University of St Andrews. Tom is a former Trustee of the Royal Botanic Garden, Edinburgh and was previously a member of the Natural Environment Research Council and the Defra Science Advisory Committee.

Our Joint Committee is a non-executive Board which brings together members from the nature conservation bodies for England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland and independent members appointed by the Secretary of State for the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs under an independent Chair, to lead the organisation.    


* This news item was first published on 28 March 2022, and updated on 25 April 2022, as a third board member, referred to in the original news item, is no longer taking up their role.

Back to top