Skip to Content

Meet our Joint Committee

The Joint Committee leads JNCC and has overall responsibility for our work. Members discuss strategic nature conservation and organisational issues as well as making high-level advice, strategy, funding and planning decisions. The Framework Document provides the legal, administrative and financial framework within which the Joint Committee operates.

Members of the Joint Nature Conservation Committee as of September 2019
Professor Chris Gilligan CBE Independent Chair – University of Cambridge
Dr Hilary Kirkpatrick Chair – Council for Nature Conservation and the Countryside
Lord Blencathra Deputy Chair – Natural England
Professor Colin Galbraith Independent
Professor Ian Bateman OBE Independent – University of Exeter
Dr Mike Cantlay OBE Chair – NatureScot
Professor Marian Scott OBE  Independent – University of Glasgow
Professor Melanie Austen Independent – Plymouth Marine Laboratory
Mr Charles Banner QC Independent – Keating Chambers
Ms Cath Denholm Deputy Chair – NatureScot
Professor Michael Winter Board Member – Natural England
Professor Steve Ormerod Board Member – Natural Resources Wales
Sir David Henshaw Chair – Natural Resource Wales


Committee meetings

The Committee meets four times a year, in March, June, September and November. We are committed to the principle of open government and you are welcome to attend as observers, except when confidential issues are being discussed.

The meeting agenda and Committee papers are made available one week ahead of the meeting and draft minutes six weeks later. Meetings are run in accordance with a set of standing orders. If you would like to attend, please contact us. 

Committee papers (non-sensitive only) can be downloaded by following the links below. To access papers for meetings held in 2017 and earlier, please visit The National Archives



*Note, members of the public are still able to attend Joint Committee meetings held virtually to hear the discussions on non-confidential items. Anyone wishing to attend should email the secretariat. Once the request has been approved by the Chair, a link to the meeting along with joining instructions will be provided. 






Inter-sessional papers

Inter-sessional papers provided between Committee meetings, are also available using the links below. To access papers produced prior to 2018, please visit The National Archives.  


Published: .

If you would like to attend, please call 01733 562626 or email the secretariat

Back to top