Skip to Content

UK Protected Areas

The UK has many different types of Protected Area; some are established solely for nature conservation, while others serve a range purposes including nature, landscape and amenity values.

Within the UK, Protected Areas for nature fall into a number of categories:

The categories can overlap. For example Marine Protected Areas include national and international designations. It is also possible for an area of land (or sea) to fit into all four of the above categories.

JNCC has a variety of roles around the different protected area designations, which are described on the individual designation's webpages.

Published: .

Pages in UK Protected Areas

Related Categories

Back to top