Skip to Content

Offshore Marine Protected Areas

This page provides links to the Site Information Centres (SICs), which have been developed for designated offshore MPAs in the UK. Information about MPAs located in both territorial and offshore waters is available on JNCC's interactive map.

To access the Site Information Centre, please click on the relevant site in the table below:

Anton Dohrn Seamount SAC North-west Orkney NCMPA
Bassurelle Sandbank SAC North-West of Jones Bank MCZ
Braemar Pockmarks SAC North-West Rockall Bank SAC
Bristol Channel Approaches SAC Norwegian Boundary Sediment Plain NCMPA
Cape Bank MCZ Offshore Brighton MCZ
Central Fladen NCMPA Offshore Overfalls MCZ
Croker Carbonate Slabs SAC Orford Inshore MCZ
Darwin Mounds SAC Outer Thames Estuary SPA
Dogger Bank SAC Pisces Reef Complex SAC
East of Gannet and Montrose Fields NCMPA Pobie Bank Reef SAC
East of Haig Fras MCZ Queenie Corner MCZ
East of Start Point MCZ Scanner Pockmark SAC
East Rockall Bank SAC Skomer, Skokholm and the Seas off Pembrokeshire SPA
Farnes East MCZ Solan Bank Reef SAC
Faroe-Shetland Sponge Belt NCMPA Southern North Sea SAC
Firth of Forth Banks Complex NCMPA South Dorset MCZ
Fulmar MCZ South of Celtic Deep MCZ
Geikie Slide and Hebridean Slope NCMPA South of the Isles of Scilly MCZ
Greater Haig Fras MCZ South Rigg MCZ
Greater Wash SPA South-West Deeps (West) MCZ
Haig Fras SAC South West Approaches to the Bristol Channel MCZ
Haisborough, Hammond and Winterton SAC South West Deeps (East) MCZ
Hatton Bank cSAC Stanton Banks SAC
Hatton-Rockall Basin NCMPA Swallow Sand MCZ
Holderness Offshore MCZ The Barra Fan and Hebrides Terrace Seamount NCMPA
Inner Bank MCZ The Canyons MCZ
Inner Dowsing, Race Bank and North Ridge SAC Turbot Bank NCMPA
Irish Sea Front SPA West Shetland Shelf NCMPA
Kentish Knock East MCZ West of Copeland MCZ
Liverpool Bay SPA West of Scotland Deep Sea Marine Reserve
Markham's Triangle MCZ West of Walney MCZ
North Anglesey Marine SAC West of Wight Barfleur MCZ
North Channel SAC West Wales Marine SAC
North-east Faroe-Shetland Channel NCMPA Western Channel MCZ
North-East of Haig Fras MCZ Wight-Barfleur Reef SAC
North East of Farnes Deep MCZ Wyville Thomson Ridge SAC
North Norfolk Sandbanks and Saturn Reef SAC  

For further information about Marine Protected Areas, their site designations and what is protected in Marine Protected Areas, go to 'About MPAs'.


Published: .

Related Categories

Back to top